Three separate elections in May and June selected representatives from the Senate faculty, non-Senate faculty, and non-bargained for staff representatives to serve two-year terms on the U-M Police Department Oversight Committee.

The committee receives and makes recommendations regarding grievances against any police officer deputized by the university.

The newly elected committee members are:

  • Sarah Peitzmeier, assistant professor of nursing, School of Nursing, for the Senate faculty seat.
  • Nora Krinitsky, lecturer I in the Residential College, LSA, for the non-Senate faculty seat.
  • Rachel Dawson, managing director of Precision Health, for the non-bargained for staff representative seat.

Peitzmeier and Krinitsky have begun serving their terms, and Dawson’s appointment is effective July 7.

The six-member oversight committee includes two student members, two faculty members (one Senate and one non-Senate), and two staff members (one union and one non-union) who are nominated and elected by their peers.

The union staff representative election will take place in spring 2021.