Six faculty members named Distinguished University Professors


Six faculty members have received one of the University of Michigan’s top honors as Distinguished University Professors.

The Board of Regents approved the appointments on July 18. They are effective Sept. 1.

Recently appointed DUPs are invited to give an inaugural lecture.

The recipients are:

Photo of John Ayanian
John Ayanian

Photo of Paul Courant

Paul Courant

Photo of Judith Irvine

Judith Irvine

Photo of Earl Lewis

Earl Lewis

Photo of Anna Suk-Fong Lok

Anna Suk-Fong Lok

Photo of Scott Page

Scott Page

• John Z. Ayanian, Alice Hamilton Distinguished University Professor of Medicine and Healthcare Policy. He also is the Alice Hamilton Collegiate Professor of Medicine, director of the Institute for Healthcare Policy and Innovation and professor of internal medicine, Medical School; professor of health management and policy, School of Public Health; and professor of public policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy.

• Paul N. Courant, Edward M. Gramlich Distinguished University Professor of Economics and Public Policy. He also is an Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Harold T. Shapiro Collegiate Professor of Public Policy and professor of public policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; professor of economics, LSA; professor of information, School of Information; adjunct professor of law, Law School; and faculty associate, Institute for Social Research.

• Judith T. Irvine, Edward Sapir Distinguished University Professor of Linguistic Anthropology. She also is the Edward Sapir Collegiate Professor of Linguistic Anthropology and professor of anthropology, LSA.

• Earl Lewis, Thomas C. Holt Distinguished University Professor of History, Afroamerican and African Studies, and Public Policy. He also is a professor of history, professor of Afroamerican and African studies, and director, Center for Social Solutions, LSA.

• Anna Suk-Fong Lok, Dame Sheila Sherlock Distinguished University Professor of Hepatology and Internal Medicine. She also is the Alice Lohrman Andrews Research Professor of Hepatology, assistant dean for clinical research and professor of internal medicine, Medical School.

• Scott E. Page, John Seely Brown Distinguished University Professor of Complexity, Social Science, and Management. He also is the Williamson Family Professor of Business Administration, professor of management and organizations, Stephen M. Ross School of Business; professor of political science, professor of complex systems, and professor of economics, LSA.

Distinguished University Professorships, established in 1947, recognize senior faculty with exceptional scholarly or creative achievements, national and international reputations for academic excellence and superior records of teaching, mentoring and service.

Each professorship bears a name determined by the appointive professor in consultation with his or her dean.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.