Regents Roundup


Editor’s note: The following actions were taken by the Board of Regents at its January meeting.

Lease approved for new data center

The regents approved a 15-year lease and associated building improvements for a new offsite data center to support campus-wide academic and research computing needs. The center in the South State Commons II building—a new complex that also will house the Michigan Information Technology Center Foundation, Internet2 and the Merit Network—will allow the University to expand its data center and machine room capacity as well as consolidate current operations. University investment proceeds will fund the $15 million project budget.

Pharmacy lab to update

Laboratory space on the third floor of the School of Pharmacy building will be upgraded to accommodate new federally funded research. Approximately 4,650 gross square feet of lab and support spaces will be renovated this year. The research will involve drug monitoring and treatment of tumors. The College of Pharmacy will fund the $750,000 project budget.

Faculty appointments and promotions with tenure

Alina M. Clej, associate professor of French and associate professor of comparative literature, LSA, effective Jan. 1.

Douglas Laycock, professor of law, Law School, effective Sept. 1.

Johanna H. Prins, associate professor of comparative literature and associate professor of English language, LSA, effective Jan. 1.

Administrative appointments

Edward M. Gramlich, special advisor to the president, Office of the President, effective June 1-July 31.

MaryAnn Sarosi, assistant dean of public service, Law School, effective Feb. 1, 2006-Aug. 31, 2008.

James A. Shayman, associate vice president for research, health sciences, Office of the Vice President for Research, effective Jan. 1, 2006-Dec. 31, 2008.

Timothy P. Slottow, reappointed executive vice president and chief financial officer, Office of the President, effective Jan. 1.

Teresa A. Sullivan, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs, Office of the President, and professor of sociology, LSA, effective June 1.

Keshav S. Varde, reappointed associate dean, College of Engineering and Computer Science, U-M-Dearborn, effective Sept. 1, 2005-Aug. 31, 2008.

Named professorships

Louis Joseph Andriessen, Netherlands Visiting Professor, School of Music, effective Feb.1, 2005-Feb. 28, 2006.

Andrew Bush, Louis and Helen Padnos Visiting Professor of Judaic Studies, LSA, effective Sept. 1-Dec. 31.

Gerald F. Davis, Wilbur K. Pierpont Collegiate Professor of Management, Stephen M. Ross School of Business, effective Jan. 1, 2006-Dec. 31, 2010.

David M. Halperin, reappointed W. H. Auden Collegiate Professor of English Language and Literature, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2006-Dec. 31, 2010.

James Z. Lee, Frederick G. L. Huetwell Professor, LSA, effective Jan. 1, 2006-Dec. 31, 2010.

Martin Zimmerman, Ford Motor Company Clinical Professor of Business Administration, Stephen M. Ross School of Business, effective Jan. 1, 2006-Dec. 31, 2011.


Howard Shevrin, professor of psychology in the Medical School and in LSA, effective Dec. 31, 2005. He joined the University in 1973. Shevrin has pushed the boundaries between neuroscience and psychoanalysis for more than 50 years. He found evidence that psychoanalytic concepts could be documented through physical measures of brain activity. His studies helped form the foundation for the new field of neuropsychoanalysis.

Kathryn Tosney, professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology in LSA, effective Dec. 31, 2005. She joined U-M in 1984. Tosney is an internationally recognized leader in developmental neurobiology. She developed novel approaches to help students grasp difficult concepts in developmental biology. Her experiments are notable for their elegant approach and clear results.

Sue Woestehoff, professor of education in the School of Education and Human Services at U-M-Flint, effective Dec. 31, 2005. She joined the University in 1969. Woestehoff’s research focused on children’s literature and language arts. She served three terms as chair of the Department of Education and played a major role in the development of the graduate program. She was a founding member of the executive committee of the School of Education and Human Services.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.