The election for the non-Senate faculty representative for the U-M Police Department Oversight Committee now is underway.

more information

Members of the following groups are eligible to be nominated for and participate in the election for this position: lecturers, emeriti, adjunct and clinical faculty members.  Appointment of the newly elected member of the committee will take place in April.

The candidates are Brian Czajka, clinical professor of clinical practice, School of Kinesiology, and David A. Moran, clinical professor of law, Law School.

Online voting is available now through 5 p.m. March 26.

The six-member oversight committee is comprised of two student members, two faculty members (one Senate and one non-Senate faculty), and two staff members (one union and one non-union), who are nominated and elected by their peers for two-year terms. 

The committee receives and makes recommendations regarding grievances against any police officer deputized by the university.