Nine faculty members have received one of the University of Michigan’s top honors as Distinguished University Professors.

The appointments were approved by the Board of Regents on Thursday. They are effective Sept. 1.

Kent Berridge

Sally Camper

Robert Griess

Sharon Herbert

Alfred Hero

Wallace Hopp

Melanie Sanford

June Manning Thomas

Valerie Traub

Recently appointed DUPs are invited to give an inaugural lecture that highlights their work at the university. The lecture is typically delivered during the first or second full year of their appointments.

The recipients are:

• Kent C. Berridge, James Olds Distinguished University Professor of Psychology and Neuroscience. He also is professor of psychology, LSA.

• Sally A. Camper, Margery Shaw Distinguished University Professor of Human Genetics and Internal Medicine. She also is professor of human genetics and professor of internal medicine, Medical School.

• Robert L. Griess Jr., John Griggs Thompson Distinguished University Professor of Mathematics. He also professor of mathematics, LSA.

• Sharon C. Herbert, Charles K. Williams, II Distinguished University Professor of Classical Archaeology. She also is professor of classical archaeology and Greek, LSA.

• Alfred O. Hero III, John H. Holland Distinguished University Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. He also is the R. Jamison and Betty Williams Professor of Engineering, professor of electrical engineering and computer science, College of Engineering; professor of biomedical engineering, CoE and Medical School; and professor of statistics, LSA.

• Wallace J. Hopp, C.K. Prahalad Distinguished University Professor of Business and Engineering. He also is associate dean for learning and design, and professor of technology and operations, Stephen M. Ross School of Business; and professor of industrial and operations engineering, CoE.

• Melanie S. Sanford, Moses Gomberg Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry. She also is Arthur F. Thurnau Professor and professor of chemistry, LSA.

• June Manning Thomas, Mary Frances Berry Distinguished University Professor of Urban Planning. She also is professor of urban planning, A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning.

• Valerie J. Traub, Adrienne Rich Distinguished University Professor of English and Women’s Studies. She also is the Frederick G. L. Huetwell Professor of English and Women’s Studies, professor of English language and literature and professor of women’s studies, LSA.

Distinguished University Professorships, established in 1947, recognize full professors for exceptional scholarly or creative achievement, national and international reputation, and superior teaching skills. Each professorship bears a name determined by the appointive professor in consultation with her or his dean.