MCubed, Pharmacy projects win President’s Staff Innovation Awards


President Mark Schlissel announced the winners of the 2016 President’s Staff Innovation Awards at U-M’s StaffWorks Best Practices and Technology Conference on Wednesday.

The MCubed staff team of Valerie Johnson, Wendy Palms and Amanda Kanter received the Team Award for developing and implementing best practices, identifying new opportunities for fundraising and sponsorship, and adding new features that make MCubed more responsive and inclusive.

MCubed is U-M’s unique seed-funding program to support multidisciplinary faculty research and scholarship.

From left, President Schlissel presents the President’s Staff Innovation Team Award to the MCubed team of Valerie Johnson, Wendy Palms and Amanda Kanter. (Photo by Daryl Marshke, Michigan Photography)

The Individual Award was presented to Tina Matter, senior web designer/administrator in the College of Pharmacy, for developing a web-based tool used by the dean, administration, faculty and staff to assess faculty performance in five key areas: teaching, research, service, honors and awards.

The solution she developed provides efficiency, productivity and cost savings by organizing large amounts of data into a useable interface where faculty can record their activities and leadership can assess their work.

President Schlissel presents the Individual Award to the College of Pharmacy’s Tina Matter. (Photo by Daryl Marshke, Michigan Photography)

Finalists for the Team Award were:

• The UMHS Adolescent Health Initiative Team (Jenni Lane, Lauren Ranalli, Maggie Riley, Vani Patterson, Danny Alvarez and Jenny Murphy)  for an innovative train-the-trainer workshop model for providing health care to transgender adolescents.

• The UMHS Frequent Rounding Program Team (David MacIntyre, Robert Phil and Kathie Krebs) for developing a cost-effective solution for observing hospital patients who are at risk for injury or harm.

Two Individual Award finalists were also recognized:

• Dana Sitzler, associate director of state outreach in the Office of the Vice President for Government Relations, for her innovations in supporting the Michigan Road Scholars Program and a unique engaged learning opportunity with the Chippewa Sault Ste. Marie tribe.

• Michelle Krell Kydd, communication specialist for the Alliance for the Arts in Research Universities (a2ru), for her innovative work as an educator and community builder through her unique presentations focused on olfaction, or the sense of smell.

The 2016 StaffWorks Best Practices and Technology Conference took place Wednesday at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business. The conference showcased the use of best practices and technology by staff in support of the services and operations of the university.

In addition to the presentation of the President’s Staff Innovation Award, the event featured a leadership panel discussion, 16 breakout speaker presentations and nearly 100 poster presentations. More than 400 staff participated in the event.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.