Faculty panel plans broad outreach across three campuses


The panel of faculty members appointed by the provost to explore the intersection of faculty members’ political ideology and their responsibilities to students has initiated a survey of the university community and will host several open meetings to gather input in the coming weeks.

The panel, led by James J. Duderstadt, president emeritus and University Professor of Science and Engineering, is announcing the next steps in an email message to faculty, staff and students across all three U-M campuses.

more information

“Our goal is to solicit a broad range of perspectives on this question: What ought to be intersection of faculty members’ political thought/ideology and their responsibilities to students?” Duderstadt said. “Our charge is not to formulate specific policy or processes, but to recommend appropriate considerations and principles.”

The meetings, open to all members of the university community, are scheduled on the Ann Arbor, Dearborn and Flint campuses, starting Dec. 12. They will be:

• Ann Arbor: Dec. 12, 3-5 p.m., Forum Hall, Palmer Commons.

• Dearborn: Jan.10, 9-11 a.m., Quad E, Fairlane Center North.

• Flint: Jan. 10, 3-5 p.m., French Hall, Room 111.

• Ann Arbor: Jan. 11, 10 a.m.-noon, East Hall, Pierpont Commons.

The panel also will gather input through a broad survey of faculty, staff and students. The survey, which poses open-ended questions, will remain open through Jan. 18. Additionally, comments and suggestions may be submitted by email.

In addition to Duderstadt, other members of the panel appointed by Provost Martin Philbert are:

• Deborah Ball, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, William H. Payne Collegiate Professor of Education and professor of education, School of Education.

• Susan Collins, Edward M. Gramlich Collegiate Professor of Public Policy, Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy; and professor of economics, LSA.

• Deborah Goldberg, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Margaret B. Davis Distinguished University Professor of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, LSA.

• Don Herzog, Edson R. Sunderland Professor of Law, Law School; and professor of political science, LSA.

• Bill Lovejoy, Raymond T. J. Perring Family Professor of Business Administration, professor of technology and operations and associate dean for specialty programs, Stephen M. Ross School of Business; and professor of art and design, Penny W. Stamps School of Art and Design.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.