LSA has selected eight new fellows for its third cohort of LSA Collegiate Fellows.

The eight fellows were chosen from among 812 applications for their outstanding research accomplishments and agenda, as well as their sustained commitments to working on issues of diversity, equity and inclusion.

The selection process included review and evaluation by LSA departments, the National Center for Institutional Diversity, a college faculty review committee, and the LSA dean’s office.

LSA Collegiate Fellows are anticipated to join the faculty at U-M after completing their two-year fellowship.

This year’s new fellows, along with their LSA departments and Ph.D.-granting institutions, are:

  • Emmalon Davis — Department of Philosophy; Indiana University, Bloomington.
  • Adrian Deese — Department of Afroamerican and African Studies; University of Cambridge.
  • Luciana de Souza Leão — Department of Sociology; Columbia University.
  • Jennifer Hsieh — Department of Anthropology; Stanford University.
  • Mostafa Hussein — Jean and Samuel Frankel Center for Judaic Sudies; Brandeis University.
  • Ungsan Kim — Department of Asian Languages and Cultures; University of Washington.
  • Niloofar Sarlati — Department of Comparative Literature; University of Minnesota.
  • Daniel Valella — Department of English Language and Literature; University of California, Berkeley.

The eight new fellows will arrive at LSA in the fall.