Campus briefs


College of Pharmacy to host clinical pharmacist training program in primary care

The University of Michigan College of Pharmacy will be hosting three training programs this year that will prepare pharmacists to run productive practices in an outpatient clinical environment. The training consists of four days of hands-on training, including three half-day mock clinic sessions during which participants will conduct 18 clinic visits with simulated patient instructors. Live training will begin with case discussions that emphasize practical application of clinical guidelines to individual patient cases. Program faculty will provide feedback based on review of electronic medical record notes and simulated patient instructor assessments. Assessment of clinical decision-making and communication skills (motivational interviewing, patient empowerment, etc.) will be included. Up to 12 practicing pharmacists will be accepted into each cohort.

Free medical school available for Flint students with gift from local family

Full tuition to the Medical School is available for college students from Flint and Genesee County who qualify for financial assistance and are accepted into the program. Students have to fill out financial aid forms during application and indicate they are from Flint or Genesee County to be eligible for the scholarship. So far there have been no applicants from the Flint area. The funding honors Arthur Tuuri, a pediatrician who took care of Flint children from 1948-85. Tuuri’s daughter, Mary-Sue, and her husband, medical doctor Gary Jones, want to give local students the chance to realize their dreams of becoming a doctor. “We grew up in Flint and met each other here,” Mary-Sue Tuuri said. “We want to give back to the place we love, the place that provided us with so many important opportunities.” To learn more about the UM-Flint premed program, go to

Three U-M researchers chosen Cottrell Scholars

Three U-M professors, whose fields include chemistry and astronomy, have been named 2019 Cottrell Scholars by the Research Corporation for Science Advancement, a foundation dedicated to science. Each of the 24 recipients is identified as a leader in integrating science teaching and research a top U.S. research university or a primarily undergraduate institution and is also awarded $100,000. The winners are Charles C. L. McCrory, assistant professor of chemistry; Alison Narayan, assistant professor of chemistry; and Emily Rauscher, assistant professor of astronomy.

Announcing 2019-20 MSI Outreach and Collaboration Grant Competitions

As part of a broader, campuswide strategy of complementary efforts to support and enhance bilateral relationships between U-M and Minority Serving Institutions, the Rackham Graduate School will offer two related funding opportunities through the MSI Outreach and Collaboration Grant competition. These grants seek to increase access of diverse students from MSIs to U-M through establishing, enhancing and expanding inter-institutional faculty, staff and student relationships and collaborations with MSI partners. All proposals should be submitted to [email protected] by 5 p.m. April 12. MSI Outreach and Collaboration Informational Sessions are scheduled 12:30-1:30 p.m. March 19 at Taubman Health Sciences Library 2901 and noon-1:30 p.m. March 20 at Earl Lewis Room, 3rd Floor, Rackham Building.

Domenico Grasso to be formally installed as UM-Dearborn chancellor April 12

The Board of Regents and President Mark Schlissel will formally welcome Domenico Grasso as the sixth chancellor of UM-Dearborn on April 12 with a day of academic showcases, an installation ceremony and a celebratory reception. The installation ceremony will take place at 1 p.m. at the Fieldhouse. The program will include remarks from several prominent speakers, including Rep. Debbie Dingell, Ford Motor Co. President and CEO Jim Hackett, Schlissel and Prairie View A&M University President Ruth Simmons. To view a full schedule of events and RSVP, visit

Nominations sought for James S. Jackson Distinguished Career Award

The James S. Jackson Distinguished Career Award for Diversity Scholarship is a biannual award that recognizes the important scholarly contributions made by U-M faculty to understanding diversity and addressing disparities in contemporary society. Every other year, a senior faculty member whose program of research and scholarship focuses on diversity — including teaching, mentoring, and public engagement — will be selected to deliver the James S. Jackson Distinguished Career Award for Diversity Scholarship public lecture or performance, and receive an award and honorarium of $10,000. U-M faculty, staff and students are invited to submit nominations by April 1. For more information and nomination details, visit

— Compiled by Lydia Murray and Safiya Merchant, The University Record


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.