Accolades — October 2019


Erik Bakich, University of Michigan baseball coach, was named the 2019 Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year by the College Baseball Foundation. The award honors coaches at all levels of college baseball. In his seventh season as the head of the program, Bakich guided U-M to its eighth College World Series appearance in team history, which resulted in its third CWS Finals appearance and ended in a national runner-up finish. He also won the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association National Coach of the Year and the National Coach of the Year awards. The Bertman Award is named for Louisiana State University head coach and National College Baseball Hall of Famer Skip Bertman, who coached the LSU Tigers from 1984 to 2001.

Margaret Liu, assistant program director of the Standardized Patient Instructor Program in the School of Dentistry, was honored for her work in the field of standardized patient instructor education. Liu received the Emerging Leader Award from the Association of Standardized Patient Educators in June. ASPE is a global organization for educators focused on human simulation to promote student learning in the health science fields. The award recognizes a rising educator who has less than seven years working with standardized patient methodology, has made significant contributions to the ASPE community and is recognized as an up-and-coming leader.

Photo of Joseph C. Kolars
Joseph C. Kolars

Joseph C. Kolars, senior associate dean for education and global initiatives in the Medical School, has been named the recipient of the 2019 Abraham Flexner Award for Distinguished Service to Medical Education by the Association of American Medical Colleges. The award honors an individual or a team whose contributions have had a demonstrable impact on advancing medical education. First presented in 1958, the Flexner Award is the AAMC’s most prestigious honor. Kolars, the Josiah Macy Jr. Professor of Health Professions Education and a professor of internal medicine and learning health sciences, will receive the award Nov. 10 at AAMC’s annual meeting in Phoenix, Arizona.  

Photo of Reshma Jagsi
Reshma Jagsi

Reshma Jagsi, has been named the recipient of the Association of American Medical Colleges Group on Women in Medicine and Science Leadership Award. The annual awards are presented to individuals and organizations that demonstrate a significant impact on the advancement of women’s roles in academic medicine and science. Jagsi is the Newman Family Professor of Radiation Oncology in the Medical School. She also directs the Center for Bioethics and Social Sciences in Medicine. She will receive the award Nov. 9 at AAMC’s annual meeting in Phoenix, Arizona.  

Leila Kawar, associate professor of American culture and of the Residential College, was awarded a Mellon New Directions Fellowship for her research project called “Conditioning Human Mobility: Rights, Regulation, and the Transnational Construction of the Migrant Worker.” The project builds on Kawar’s prior scholarship on immigration legal activism. During the 2019-20 academic year, Kawar will be a visiting scholar at McGill University’s Faculty of Law in Montreal, Canada, where she will collaborate with Canadian labor law specialists and with researchers at the Interuniversity Research Centre on Globalization and Work.

Megan Ryan, a Ph.D. student, has been awarded a Peace Scholar Dissertation Fellowship for her dissertation on peacebuilding and conflict management. The award carries a $20,000 stipend. Ryan’s dissertation is called “The Making of an Unlikely Movement: Privilege and Nationalism in a New Democracy.” Since 1988, the U.S. Institute of Peace’s Peace Scholar Dissertation Fellowship program has supported the dissertations of 320 young scholars, many of whom have gone on to distinguished careers in research, teaching and policymaking. The program awards non-residential fellowships to students enrolled in U.S. universities who are writing doctoral dissertations on topics related to international conflict management and peacebuilding.

Photo of Sara Duvall
Sara Duvall

Sara Duvall, an adjunct lecturer in the School of Information, has received a Fulbright U.S. Sr. Scholar Program award to work in India in library and information science. Duvall is providing professional development for faculty and lecture graduate students at Shivaji University School of Library and Information Science in Kolhapur, Marharashtra. She also is traveling throughout the subcontinent to engage libraries and librarians in conversations about the future of libraries, archives and museums in India. The nine-month grant began in September. Duvall is one of more than 800 U.S. citizens who are teaching, conducting research and providing expertise abroad during the 2019-20 academic year through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program. Recipients of Fulbright awards are selected based on academic and professional achievement, record of service and demonstrated leadership in their respective fields.

Terri Friedline, an associate professor of social work, has been appointed to the Academic Research Council of the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. The bureau helps consumer finance markets work by regularly identifying and addressing outdated, unnecessary or unduly burdensome regulations, by making rules more effective, enforcing federal consumer financial law and empowering consumers to take more control over their economic lives. Lynn Videka, dean of the School of Social Work, said Friedline’s appointment will ensure that her and other’s important research on fair banking and financial practices will have progressive impact on the CFPB and the nation’s economy as a whole.

— Compiled by Ann Zaniewski, The University Record

— Submit requests for faculty or staff Accolades to Please attach a digital photo if you wish for one to be included.


Leave a comment

Commenting is closed for this article. Please read our comment guidelines for more information.