Photo of Steven Buchman
Steven Buchman

Photo of Jessica Tischler

Jessica Tischler

Photo of Rebecca Tonietto

Rebecca Tonietto

Photo of Lindsey Smith

Lindsey Smith

Photo of Kate Wells

Kate Wells

Steven R. Buchman, M. Haskell Newman Collegiate Professor of Plastic Surgery, professor of surgery and professor of neurosurgery, Medical School, has been selected to serve as a Visiting Professor for the American Association of Plastic Surgeons. Buchman received the association’s Research Achievement Award this year as well.

Jessica Tischler, associate professor of organic chemistry, and Rebecca Tonietto, assistant professor of biology, both of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Michigan-Flint, recently received the American Red Cross’ Certificate of Extraordinary Personal Action for helping a student during a health-related incident. Tischler and Tonietto in part helped steady the student’s vitals and kept the student safe until emergency medical services arrived. Amy Meister, executive director for the Flint chapter of the American Red Cross, said the honor is given to individuals who step up in an emergency situation and help save or sustain a life.

Lynn Videka, School of Social Work dean and Carol T. Mowbray Collegiate Professor of Social Work, is the recipient of the University of Chicago School of Social Service Administration’s Edith Abbott Award for Lifetime Achievement. Videka received her Master of Arts degree in 1976 and her Ph.D. in 1981. The award honors alumni who have made outstanding contributions that have enhanced the social work profession overall. Her vision at the University of Michigan is one that encompasses robust research, innovative cross-disciplinary collaborations and rigorous engaged education for the next generation of practitioners.

Lindsey Smith, investigative reporter for Michigan Radio and NPR, and Kate Wells, reporter for Michigan Radio and NPR, recently received the Livingston Award for local reporting. The two journalists earned the honor for their podcast series, “Believed,” which told the story of USA Gymnastics doctor Larry Nassar’s arrest and how a group of women — a detective, a prosecutor and survivors — brought down a serial sex offender. The $10,000 Livingston Award prizes honor outstanding achievement in local, national and international reporting and recognize the best journalism by professionals younger than age 35 across all platforms. The awards are funded by the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation and U-M.

The Executive Education team at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business recently won the 2019 European Foundation for Management Development Excellence in Practice Silver Award in talent development for its custom corporate learning program with Oracle. The EFMD Excellence in Practice Awards recognize outstanding client-supplier partnerships in leadership and development.

— Submit requests for faculty or staff Accolades to

— Compiled by Safiya Merchant, The University Record