BYLAWS

The following revisions to the Regents' Bylaws have been proposed and are now being posted for public comment. Please address any comments to publiccomments@umich.edu. All comments must be received by Aug. 7. Additions are underlined; deletions are struck-through.

Proposed revisions to Bylaws 6.02 and 11.10

The following revisions reflect the change in name of the University of Michigan-Dearborn School of Management to the College of Business, as approved by the regents on May 14, 2009.

Sec. 6.02. Degree Program Definitions (revised September 2004)

Undergraduate degree programs are offered by:

The University of Michigan (Ann Arbor Campus)

- A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning
- School of Art and Design
- Stephen M. Ross School of Business
- School of Dentistry
- School of Education
- College of Engineering
- Division of Kinesiology
- College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
- School of Music, Theatre & Dance
- School of Natural Resources and Environment
- School of Nursing
- College of Pharmacy

The University of Michigan-Dearborn

- College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters
- School of Education-
- School of Engineering
- College of Business School

of Management

The University of Michigan-Flint

- College of Arts and SciencesSchool of Health Professions and Studies
- School of Management
- School of Education and Human Services

Graduate degree programs are offered by the schools and colleges on all three campuses through the agency of the Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies, leading to the master's, doctoral, and related degrees.

In addition, the A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning, the Stephen M. Ross School of Business, the School of Health Professions and Studies, the School of Natural Resources and Environment, and the Schools of ManagementCollege of Business at the University of Michigan-Dearborn, and the School of Management at the University of Michigan-Flint, and the School of Education and Human Services at the University of Michigan-Flint, are authorized to offer the master's degree in appropriate professional fields and the School of Music, Theatre & Dance, the master's degree in applied music.

Graduate professional degree programs are offered by the:

- School of Dentistry
- College of Pharmacy
- Law School
- School of Public Health
- Medical School
- School of Social Work

Sec. 11.10. The University of Michigan-Dearborn School of Management Col-

lege of Business Executive Committee

The executive committee will consist of the dean and five faculty members of senate rank to be appointed by the Regents on recommendation by the chancellor and the president. The appointed members will not be eligible for reappointment until after the lapse of one year. The terms will be for three years and will be so adjusted that one vacancy will occur each year. The dean will chair the committee.

Proposed Revisions to Bylaws 11.25 and 11.26 (The University of Michigan Press)

Sec. 11.25. The University of Michigan Press

The University of Michigan Press, which promotes scholarly communications, is a unit of the University Library. will be maintained for the purpose of publishing for sale books and other documents on behalf of the University.

Sec. 11.26. The University of Michigan Press: Director and Executive Committee

The University of Michigan Press will be under a director, responsible to the dean of the graduate school, appointed by the board on recommendation by the president. The director will be assisted by an executive committee consisting of the dean of the graduate school who will be chair of the executive committee, the director of the University of Michigan Press, and nine additional members to be appointed by the board upon recommendation by the president, for terms of three years each. The committee will have the responsibility for promoting publication by and on behalf of the University and the power to determine policies relative to such publications, to supervise such publications and their sale or other distribution, to approve or reject manuscripts offered for publication under the University of Michigan Press imprint, and to approve all expenditures for publication by or on behalf of the University.

Proposed revision to Bylaw 13.06

It is proposed that Bylaw 13.06 be eliminated, since the University Committee on Broadcasting no longer exists.

Sec. 13.06. University Committee on Broadcasting (revised November 1993)

The University Broadcasting Service shall be under the direction of a University Committee on Broadcasting which shall be responsible for formulating and carrying out plans and policies governing all University broadcasting activities, both radio and television, as follows:

The operation of all educational radio and television activities of the broadcasting service:

The use of Universityowned broadcasting stationsand related properties.

The provision of such services as may be requested by academic departments and other University-approved offices in the way of facilities or personnel to install, operate, service, program, or otherwise participate in closed-circuit television or radio installations and activities.

The committee shall act

also for the University in presenting official radio or television programs over other broadcasting outlets, and in considering all requests for official University sponsorship of or participation in radio or television programs other than those for which there is now a fixed policy, such as programs sponsored by the Department of Intercollegiate Athletics.

The University Committee on Broadcasting shall be composed of the following: a representative of the provost and executive vice president for academic affairs; the director of the University Extension Service, ex officio; the director of University communication, ex officio; the director of broadcasting, ex officio, without vote; and six members of the University Senate to be appointed by the Board of Regents on recommendation by the president for terms of three years each, the terms to be so arranged that two vacancies shall occur each year. No senate member in this category may serve more than two consecutive terms.

The president shall appoint the chair, who shall serve as the executive officer of the committee. The chair shall serve for periods of three years, or until relieved by the president. The director of broadcasting, responsible to the director of university communication, shall be the administrative officer of the broadcasting service.

The director of broadcasting shall be responsible for the management of the service and for program operations within the policies approved by the committee.