University of Michigan
News for Faculty and Staff

June 22, 2018

Education dean honored for contributions to teacher education

February 26, 2014

Education dean honored for contributions to teacher education

Topic: Campus News

School of Education Dean Deborah Loewenberg Ball is the recipient of the 2014 Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education.

Deborah Ball

The award is presented by the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE), a national alliance of public and private colleges and universities that provides educators with training and continuing education. The award will be presented Monday at AACTE's 66th annual meeting in Indianapolis.

"This award is a fitting testament to Deborah Loewenberg Ball's deep commitment to the careful preparation of beginning teachers," said Martha E. Pollack, provost and executive vice president for academic affairs.

"Her work has added a vital element to the national discourse on teacher preparation and on the key role that teaching plays in children's life chances. Her leadership in the field, including her work with policymakers at local, state and national levels, will point the way to ensuring that every child in our nation's classrooms receives skillful teaching."

The award is named for former AACTE Executive director Edward C. Pomeroy, and recognizes "distinguished service to the teacher education community for the development and promotion of outstanding practices at the collegiate, state or national level."

Ball was cited for exceptional contributions to AACTE, to national and state organizations involved in teacher education and to the development of exemplary teacher education initiatives.

According to the committee, Ball's service to the profession is notable because of her involvement in numerous national initiatives, including her role in TeachingWorks, which provides exemplary practices for the preparation of teachers. TeachingWorks will co-host a series of sessions at the 2014 AACTE annual meeting.

Ball also is a member of the National Science Board, a trustee of the Mathematical Sciences Research Institute and chair of the board of directors of the Spencer Foundation. She is an elected member of the National Academy of Education, and is a fellow of both the American Educational Research Association and the American Mathematical Society.